Kale, blueberry, banana and OJ smoothie

So I’m back home in Los Angeles after graduating and being done with school back east. On returning home, I discovered my family has replaced the regular blender with a Vitamix. I was very, very excited to use it. If you haven’t heard of it, it’s a very high powered blender that for my purposes can crush things like kale or parsley down into a juice/smoothie.

I would usually make a juice like a kale carrot apple ginger juice or an apple carrot parsley spinach juice to ensure I got some greens like kale, spinach or parsley into my diet. The Vitamix though allowed me to make my own smoothie that not only included greens (with a good texture) but also allowed me to retain 100% of the fruits and vegetables natural fiber.  So the smoothie I came up with while using it this morning was made with curly kale, blueberries, a banana and fresh squeezed orange juice!

Serves 2
Each serving is one cup

Ingredients for green smoothie

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 curly kale leaf
  • 1 banana
  • 1 cup of fresh squeezed orange juice
  • 1/2 cup of blueberries

Wash and dry your curly kale, then rip or cut the leaves from the stem. Once you’ve removed all the leaves, place them in the vitamix, or a high powered blender, and discard the stem from the kale. Then add in the banana, blueberries and fresh squeezed orange juice. If you don’t have fresh orange juice, you can of course use store bought juice.

Then simply blend on high until all the fruits and vegetables have broken down. This didn’t take long in the Vitamix and left me with a smoothie that had a great, smooth texture. There was no chunks or no little pieces of the kale leaves left unblended. I don’t know if this smoothie would work as well in a regular blender but I would assume any high powered blender will be able to handle it.

Then simply pour your smoothie into two glasses. Each glass will have a one cup serving of this kale, blueberry, banana and orange juice smoothie. Enjoy!

Nutrition Facts

Kale Smoothie Nutrition Facts

Kale Smoothie Nutrition Facts 2

One serving of this delicious smoothie will give you 165 calories and just 1 gram from fat. You will also be getting almost 800 milligrams of potassium and 4 grams of protein. There are 38 grams of carbohydrates in this one cup serving of this smoothie with 5 grams of dietary fiber.

In terms of vitamins, you are getting 9% of your daily vitamin E, 30% of your daily vitamin B-6, 173% of your daily vitamin C, and over 350% of your daily vitamin A.

You get so many minerals from this smoothie. Some of those include 11% of your daily calcium, 16% of your daily copper, and 38% of your daily manganese.

The complete nutrition facts can be seen in the images above and have been calculated using Sparks Recipe Calculator.

