Here is my recipe for carrot cake muffins was printed today in my column, Hungry Husky, in the Daily Campus today…

Carrot cake is one of my favorite things to eat. I was craving carrot cake the other day, but clearly didn’t want to make an entire carrot cake that would go bad within a day or two.

So what better to do than turn that carrot cake into delicious, little carrot cake muffins! If I did this, then I could have my carrot cake muffins for breakfast warmed with cream cheese, on the go on my way to class as a snack, or even as a little dessert with cream cheese frosting after dinner. So I set off to bake these golden brown, delicious, little carrot cake muffins…

Makes 12 muffins

Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 25 minutes
Total Time: 40 minutes

Carrot cake muffins ready to go into the oven!

Ingredients
1 1/4 cup wheat flour
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1/4 tsp salt
1 tbs vanilla extract
2-3 tbs water
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 cup grated, packed carrots (2 to 3 carrots)
Optional: ¼ cup chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In one bowl, mix all of your dry ingredients thoroughly. In a separate bowl, mix all of your wet ingredients, except for the water. Add your wet ingredients, except for the water, to your dry ingredients and mix well.

Cooled carrot cake muffins waiting to be devoured, yum!

If your mixture doesn’t look wet enough, add the water. It is important to adjust this based on what your mixture looks like because if you add the water and your mixture becomes too wet, it will not cook properly and will not taste good. I usually end up needing two tablespoons of water, so that’s what I would recommend.

Once your carrot cake batter is mixed well, pour equal amounts into your nonstick/sprayed muffin tin. Place in oven on middle rack and bake for 25 minutes.

Let cool for about ten minutes and then enjoy your golden brown, delicious, carrot cake muffins!

